Our Team

Executive Committee

The Pro Patria Museum's executive leadership team strives to carry out the Museum’s mission with the highest standards of excellence, authenticity, professionalism, and fiscal responsibility.

Pro Patria Museum Chairman

Lawrence R. Smith

Lawrence R. Smith is retired Major General and served South Africa for 42 years in uniform. 

He served in 1 SSB, 61 Mech Bn Gp, 2 SAI Bn Gp, School of Armour, SA Army College and at 43 SA Bde as Second in Command and GOC, before being appointed as Deputy Chief Army in 2014. He retired in 2018. Since then, he has served as the Chairperson of the CMVO SA and in 2022 he has been elected as the Chairman of the Pro Patria Museum.

Lawrence did three six-months and two shorter tours of duty during the SWA/Namibia bush war. He participated in various internal and external operations in the latter theatre. In later years, he commanded combat contingents in Burundi and DRC.

He completed all the qualifying Armour and Officer Courses and did Command and Staff Course over the period 1994 and 1995. He graduated from the US Army Command and General Staff College in June 1997. Ten years later he did the equivalent of the SANDF Executive National Security Program, the Strategy and Defence Course, in China at the People’s Liberation Army National Defence University – graduating in 2008

Tom Moodie